Wednesday 8.5.09

Photography is something that became much more interesting to me in just the past few years. I’ve always been doing something “artistic” whether or not I ever claimed it was artistic. In my mind it is just the stuff I do and much of it is a huge waste of time but it seems to satisfy my need to explore and experiment with different visual ideas. Some lead me into other things. Some fail and I move on to something else. I accept that this is the way it is and won’t beat myself up too much if things don’t work out. I can try again tomorrow.

I did a trade shoot the other day. Someone had set it up, I agreed. I did not need the images and just kind of did it out of habit. If I was going to get a few good images out of it, I would be happy. If I could use the time to experiment with minimal lighting and then later produce an image with some kind of technique and polish, I would be even happier. That was really all I was going to get out of it.

The shoot happened, people left with a cd of low res images. This new camera (50D) is set to shoot raw and small jpg at the same time. I usually give the models the jpgs as proofs. The quality of the image is much better than previous versions and the size of a “small” image is huge compared to images that could be produced only a few years ago.

If you read this far, you are expecting the point – or the rant in this case. Something unexpected happened after the shoot. I have read about this from time to time and had never really given it much thought. The model sent the image to a retoucher and paid this person to work on the image. Other images were also retouched by others. I usually just tell people to mark the image as “retouched by model” and have no issue with it. I know that there are a lot of people that are as interested in post processing as they are interested in modeling. Who am I to deny their creative flow? But this was a little different and I just don’t know how I should feel about it. In some ways, I feel as if I was somehow taken advantage of. I also do not want to change the way I have operated with people for several years – this was just something new to me.

Oh well. I suppose I should not get bent out of shape over it.

2 responses

  1. Was just looking through your flickr. You’ve got some really cool work.

    August 5, 2009 at 6:16 pm

  2. joan

    Personal opinion, the way you (in particular) finish your images is as much a personal mark as the style of your photography in and of itself. It is what makes one of your images distinguished from the rest. If this model sent it elsewhere, she has an incomplete work on her hands, and is something of a fool. Right or wrong, against your code or not, she cost herself your touch of art upon hers. Silly model.

    August 5, 2009 at 8:14 pm

Leave a Reply

