Wednesday early AM 5.19.10

All I have to do is wait a couple of days or so for something really stupid to happen. Stupid… maybe it all depends on which end of the bank account you are on. I was listening to the radio while working today when they started discussing Bristol Palin now heading for the talk for pay circuit. Here’s a Huffington Post article. I don’t know her, I don’t blame her for making a buck. $15,000.00 to $30,000.00 is certainly more than a buck.

The article states that she “speaks about pregnancy prevention, abstinence, faith and life.” She kind of failed at the first two. This article (link) shows state by state teen births. “In 2006, the teen birth rate increased 3%, to 41.9 births per 1,000 women ages 15-19.”

How many of these girls or what percentage of these girls are in the situation that Bristol Palin finds herself in? Here is a girl who wants for nothing really. I’m sure things are set or taken care of… health care, assistance in raising and/or caring for her child. No worries about making the rent/house payment, insurance payment, getting to work in a reliable vehicle, affording food. Where does this kid get off speaking about any real life hard core details to anyone – and at a rate of 15 – 30k? I gotta say it, get the fuck out. I also would have to wonder why someone would want to spend money to see this “expert.”

I was married for the first time when I was 19. My oldest daughter was born 1 week before I turned 20. I had a job, my wife had a job. At the time, I was actually making pretty good money. Our daughter was born pre-mature and spent a few days in an incubator. The bill was much more than we had planned for and it was paid without insurance. We as a couple raised her with help from family when needed. She was our only child for the first 5 years. Later we had two more kids. Eventually, the marriage ended and I went in another direction. I completely fucked up many times in my life and probably will continue to do so. Over the last 30 years since I was 20 I have gained a couple of grains of wisdom or insight or a clue about a few things. Like… perhaps that stuff in the baby’s shit is not worms – it might be banana seeds. And, it was.

Ok, where’s my speaking engagement? Hell, I’ll do it for an even $10,000.00 or so. For that bargain they better include an awesome lunch.

Leave a Reply

