Thursday 2.3.11

I was reading a retoucher’s forum earlier today. Someone was intrigued with an image style, specifically a type of texture. Whenever I read these retouching posts I realize that there are a lot of right answers and a lot of really wild guesses as to how something is done. What I usually do learn is that yes, there are several ways to create the same thing. Some are easy, some are painstakingly difficult. In the forum, the question was about the texture of the image. Looking at the example, I could see that much of what you would consider to be texture was in the background of the image and not so much on the subject. Here is an easy way to do this. Once again, I present to you:

A bad tutorial.

Here is a dual image of Jess. The image on the left is the original. The image on the right kind of represents the texture idea…

The original image was cropped in Lightroom 3. Also in Lightroom 3 I slightly increased the Fill, Clarity and Recovery. (I increased the recovery just a bit to compensate for the slight dark halo created by increasing the clarity) I also reduced the saturation just a little. This is now the image you see on the left. I sent that as a PSD into Photoshop.

In photoshop, I made some very slight skin modifications on the face and around the eyes. CTL/ALT/SHFT/E to merge all to a new layer. Darken the area outside the model. (there are several ways to do this. One way is to make a selection around the model with the marquee tool, feather heavily, ctl/alt/I to reverse the selection, Ctl/J to copy to new layer and set the blending mode to something like darken and reduce opacity. Play with it. Then merge all to another new layer)

Once you have your new “darkened around the outside” layer, create a new layer. Select “use previous layer to create a clipping point”, set the blending mode to overlay and at 50% gray.

Go to Filter/Noise/Add Noise and add some noise. Usually I have it set lower than what you see here but I wanted to make sure it was visible on your screen. Select an amount and then set it to “uniform” and “monochromatic.” You can do other things with it if you wish like slightly gaussian blur it or slightly emboss it if you wish. Now, create a layer mask on this new layer. Use a soft brush tool and using black, paint out the texture on the model. You can start at 100% or you can go less than that depending on how you want it to look. That’s pretty much it.

I could have spent more time on the post lighting on the model but this was just to give you the texture idea. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

