Friday 12.2.11

Ka-powie…

Friday night. It was around 5 or so-ish. I remember this like it was just 5 or 6 hours ago. I was sitting here updating the blog with results from my heat box experimentation. Suddenly, there was quite a boom. The building shook. Every once in a while there’s a boom. Most of the time this is the result of an electrical transformer blowing up somewhere in the vicinity. One time it was a tire blowing off the rim of a grain wagon as it had passed by and crossed the tracks. My guess was transformer.

I got up and went to the door to look out and see if I could see anything. I did. Some dope from the bar next door had backed into the building. I don’t know if this person was male or female. All I saw was tail lights as they got the car straightened out enough to escape out the back way. Asshole.

This building has been here for most of, if not more than, a hundred years. Why it was originally built, I don’t know. It must have been some kind of implement dealership way back when this was the hot place to be in town: next to the tracks. On the other side of me was a hotel/restaurant which burned down in 2007. The bar, a VFW used to be a train depot. In fact, it is a rebuilt train depot as the original also burned down. In the 12 years I’ve been here, only one other moron* has backed his vehicle into the building. That guy had the sense or decency to at least come in and let me know about it. This one… tail lights vanishing into the darkness.

Ahhh, tis the season to go get hammered on a Friday night after work and drive into my building.

*Not to be confused with the same moron tasked with holding a photographer’s crap from a previous post.

Leave a Reply

