Thursday 12.8.11

New in the file: The Rick Perry Gay-Bashing campaign ad. You’ve got to be shitting me.

I don’t have a thing against people from Texas. I take that back, I wish we had more of their warm weather up here. I guess I have to hold out a few more years for that Global Warming to make it up here to the “Other Mitten State.” Then, we can trade those mittens in for some sun block.

I guess the other thing I have to wonder is what frame of mind elects this guy as Governor? I should not talk, I used to live in Illinois. I don’t recall ever voting for Blagojevich, though. Being me, I’ll talk anyway. Have you seen this ad?…

Here’s what he just said…

“I’m not ashamed to admit I’m a Christian but you don’t need to be in the pew every Sunday to know there’s something wrong in this country when GAYS can serve openly in the military but our kids can’t openly celebrate Christmas – pray in school. As President I’ll end Obama’s war on religion and I’ll fight against the liberal attacks on our religious hertiage. Faith made America strong. It can make her strong again. I’m Rick Perry and I approve this message.”

Quite a statement. Add to that the music in the background, the fall/winter jacket and the lovely landscape… you’ve got something. But what do you have? When I saw this for the first time I wondered if this guy has lost his sense. I certainly did not feel confident about a guy who jumps out there and attacks Gays serving openly in the military. I did not feel confident in a guy who wants to make America strong because HE will, as President, do something to change the way we do religion in school. What happened to that separation thing as well as having the right to believe whatever we want? Talk about confusing. School should be school. Learn stuff there. Learn how to read, write, do math and not be a complete douchebag. If you want to study and or learn about religion, go ahead. If being religious makes you a better person, your family happier and healthier… wonderful. That does not mean I have to go along with what you think or believe. I believe I also have the right to not give a shit one way or the other.

So, why this message? I was reading another article which made some claims on why this ad was done. 1. Knocking Gays will “woo” Iowa Evangelicals. 2. He is telling you Romney is a Mormon. 3. He is telling you Obama is a Muslim. 4. Perry is secretly Gay himself. 5. Obama Hates Christmas.

Whatever. Some stretching going on there too, I think. First of all, why make a message that says one thing but “secretly” means some other thing. Just say the fucking thing and get it over with. Am I supposed to look at these ads and know there is a secret meaning? What if I just listen to what you said in the ad without having to dig deeper? If I don’t know “exactly” what you meant when you said what you said, have you now wasted your ad campaign dollars?

You want me to vote for you as the GOP Presidential front runner. You want to be President. You say America is weak.  You are a Christian, and you are “in the know” about the country but you don’t attend church every Sunday. Are you also implying that people get their information on how this country works by going to a Christian Church? You have just set the precedent for you to be “ok” with not attending church on a regular basis – and even with that you know what the hell is going on because you are a Christian.

“There’s something wrong in this country when GAYS can serve openly in the military but our kids can’t openly celebrate Christmas – pray in school.” You’ve got to be shitting me. Pray any damn time you like, wherever you like. If you celebrate Christmas then you better plan to celebrate every other religious holiday as well, just to be fair. I’m sure as President, you do want to be fair… no?

War on Religion? I don’t seem to recall that proclamation other than in your ad or maybe on Fox news. With this War on Religion, do we have boots on the ground or are sandals more appropriate?

Your ad plays to a specific group of people in Iowa and I suppose you’ll recycle the ad for other Bible belt locations. You are betting that there are enough redneck morons out there that will take this message like “yeah, buddy… that there Perry is gonna be hard on them Gays.” Hard on is the thing there Rick, some people think about things with the big head too. I don’t want someone who thinks so little of me that they figure they can play on my heart strings to manipulate my mind and get my vote. If this is the way you’ll run the country, well… you’ve got to be shitting me.

4 responses

  1. Frightening to think how many people will fall for this hateful bullshit.

    December 8, 2011 at 6:52 pm

  2. Reblogged this on musingsoftheamusingmuse and commented:
    I just had to pass on this rant from my dear friend over at jsvexperimental

    December 8, 2011 at 6:53 pm

  3. Great post.

    December 8, 2011 at 7:26 pm

  4. timbo2six

    I could go on for quite a while about why this is an excellent commentary but you obviously already get the point. Suffice to say that I’m right there with ya. Nice post.

    December 16, 2011 at 3:48 pm

Leave a Reply

