Thursday 2.2.12

I really should just take more pictures of skinny bald women in rope, but no…..

My ongoing “WTF, did you really say that Newt?” moment continues. A couple of points:

1. The “elite media” thing and his idea on debates. He suggested early on that if he becomes the nominee, he will challenge President Obama to seven three hour debates. “People completely misunderstand what’s going on. It’s not that I am a good debater; it is that I articulate the deepest-felt values of the American people,” Gingrich said.

Well, Newt, that just makes all kinds of sense. It makes all kinds of sense if it was 1858 and you were running for Senate in the state of Illinois. In 2012, things are different. You are running for President, not Senator from ONE state. The current US population is over 307,000,000. The population of Illinois at that time was just over 1 million. Seems like you need to step it up a little to cover the entire country. It seems like in this world of get it now, fast food, instant messaging and instant information, sitting on our ass for three hours while you recreate historical facts would be just a little too much to take. Times 7? It becomes comedy at this point. Not a happy comedy either. More like some sick, dark, twisted thing that ends badly and I want my 21 hours back. Good plan. You want the elite media. You want any media. If you can spend time bitching to and about the media when you could really be outlining a real plan for the future, you’ll do it. You’ll gladly divert our attention away from real issues and turn it into something it is not – like the media is picking on you. By the way, Lincoln lost to Douglas.

2. “I promise you that, if I become your president, I pledge to you my life, my fortune, my sacred honor.” Really? This was at the end of your “I’m #2!” speech in Florida. You are taking lines from the Declaration of Independence and making them your own. Your Sacred Honor. Just what is that?

Ok… time to back off. I’ve been told I’m talking about this stuff in my sleep now.

One response

  1. Regarding #2… if he couldn’t promise that to wives #1 or 2… what makes him think he can promise that to the American People?? I’m not saying anything… I’m just sayin’.

    People, and politicians in particular, really need to stop using superlatives like always and never, let alone the word “promise”.

    February 2, 2012 at 8:42 pm

Leave a Reply

