Saturday 2.25.12

Fiddle Summit.

Yep. Fiddle summit. Yeah, boy… I’m livin’ the high life let me tell ya. A man stopped in to the shop a week or so ago and mentioned that there would be some fiddle playing thing at the high school tonight. Since I have some interest in fiddling, I suggested we go. Jokingly, of course, as always… in case I needed an out or maybe as a way to see if there would be any interest. You know, kind of like “hey, what if we stuck tape on the cat’s feet and watched it walk around the house… that would probably be kind of funny” – knowing that the idea would probably not really go over very well but you can always say “I was just kidding, you should know me better that that.” Total mind intercourse.

Well, there was interest. In fact, little did I know that there’s a whole Facebook world working behind my back and all of the info was out… the date was set. I also had some knowledge of who would be there and thanks to the internet was able to listen to some of the performers in advance and find out a little about them. My initial impression was something like if you are headlining here, you must kind of suck. To my surprise, it did not suck like I thought. Yeah, I was critical. I had listened to a gazzillion versions of “Old Joe Clark” earlier in the day and would certainly want to pick apart any crap variation I would hear tonight. I didn’t. Things were actually pretty good.

There was a main fiddler guy booked who wound up bringing a couple Madison locals as well as another Cajun fiddler into the mix. Some other dude joined in at one point. There were fiddles, mandolins, a guitar and a banjo. The High School sound system was lacking at points but overall, they were ok. Some of the tunes seemed to just be quite repetitious. You wondered if and when they would ever end. Some made more sense in my head… like there seemed to be a beginning, an overall theme with various highlights and then a victorious ending. There were some which included lyrics that made me think that yes… I could compose a wonderful bluegrassy, old timey kind of song. The formula seemed simple. Come up with a catchy tune that would be simple and repeat. Have a simple beat. Then, throw in some words. Not a lot of words, just enough. Enough to make you wonder a couple of things. You wonder if there are more words and you forgot them or if the few words that you are using and the manner in which you are using them are some genius method of message, deep and thoughtful.

Ok, I’ll give it a try.

In a similar tune of Old Joe Clark perhaps… Intro… a few bars –  do do do, do do do, do do do do dooooooooo, do do do, DO do do, do do, do do, dooooooooo…

Dead old cat

in the road

Dead old cat

layin’ in the road

do do do, do do do, do do do do dooooooooo, do do do, DO do do, do do, do do, dooooooooo…

Dead old cat

pissed on my coat

Dead old cat

Got my goat

do do do, do do do, do do do do dooooooooo, do do do, DO do do, do do, do do, dooooooooo…

Dead old cat

ain’t got a tail

cuz’ I cut it off

and put it in the mail

do do do, do do do, do do do do dooooooooo, do do do, DO do do, do do, do do, dooooooooo…

Dead old cat

barfed on the floor

Dead old cat

once I kicked it out the door

do do do, do do do, do do do do dooooooooo, do do do, DO do do, do do, do do, dooooooooo…

Dead old cat

But I don’t know how

Dead old cat

Who’s laughing now?

Dum do do dum dum, dum dum.

Fini.

2 responses

  1. Next Nerd Studio… I’m going to request you sing that… Just sayin’.

    February 26, 2012 at 3:16 pm

  2. Kim

    When are you going to get on Facebook!? Then you’d know about these things. 😛

    February 27, 2012 at 11:01 pm

Leave a Reply

