Friday 6.29.12

In the middle of things…

Since I’ve been shooting small things recently, I was contacted by someone from the state to see if I could shoot some ticks. I was informed that some of these would be about the size of a sesame seed. Evidently Deer ticks are about that size. I decided I had better start shooting some smaller than normal things. I even shot a sesame seed. I went to McD’s for lunch and salvaged a couple of seeds from my qtrpndrw/cheese…

After I took this picture I felt like I should not rush over there for more food any time soon.

I moved on to other critters I could find around the shop…

SO… I was not completely happy with my focus and decided I needed something to make a more precise adjustment. There are macro sliders out there and reasonably priced… but I did not have 5 to 11 weeks to wait for something from China to wash up. How about try to make something myself? All I really needed was something to go back and forth, not side to side.

I had random parts available. After some thought, this is what I came up with. The top is salvaged from an old tripod.

Tomorrow I’ll give it a try.

___________________________

Some cheesy results…

Eye of an ant…

Works better with a better lighting plan…

One response

  1. Joan

    Kudos on some major hardware goodness. Well done. Macro lens or are you just this awesome?

    July 4, 2012 at 3:26 pm

Leave a Reply

