Friday 7.13.12, yes, Friday the 13th

I listen to talk radio during the day at work. I should probably say that talk radio is on and I hear it but that does not mean I am actually listening to everything or paying attention to it. Having background noise other than a plotter running is comforting and sometimes informs me of things going on in the world. Once in a while, I do listen.

I don’t recall the topic from yesterday… could have been something political, could have been the whereabouts of Jesse Jackson Jr., could have been the hot weather we are having. Every once in a while I get the feeling that the radio host has other things going on – things we are not aware of or that they do not want us to be aware of. Perhaps they let a person go on and on because in reality they are doing something else like making weekend plans or sneaking out to take a leak. Sometimes I think that they let people go on because of the way these callers tell a story.

Often, people use unique phrases and/or words to pepper their story. Most of these are completely unnecessary. Sometimes they’ll use “you know” or “to be honest” or “honestly” or “truth be told.”

Okay, let’s start with “you know.” If I already “know” what you are telling me then why do you feel the need to tell me something I already know? If you use “to be honest” or “honestly” or “truth be told” does this mean that at other times you are completely lying to me about the crap that comes out of your mouth?

Yesterday’s listening pointed out the phrase “to make a long story short” or “long story short.” If you are telling me a story and if that story is something I do not know, how do I know if this story is long or not? When you decide to truncate your story, how do I know which pertinent details were omitted… details that would help make sense out of the story you tell. Perhaps if you would have not used all of these extra phrases and just told me the damn story, the story would have been short enough for you not to have to make it shorter.

Leave a Reply

