Saturday 10.20.12

Pottery. This stuff is tricky.

My neighbor is a potter. He owns a little gallery and has a big fall sale every year. I re-letter the dates for his banners when the time comes around. He also knows I take a couple of pictures every once in a while when I’m not ranting on about the political situation. He has decided to try to start selling some of his work on Etsy. His wife took a few shots with whatever camera they have and they were not satisfied with the results. He asked if I could shoot a few things.

Shooting round, glazed, shiny surfaces is a challenge in a studio unless you have things positioned just so. All of these items were a little different and making adjustments to account for those differences was necessary.

I came up with something like this to make it work:

 

You can see his work and more shots by clicking here…

3 responses

  1. Nearly as good as Nerd Studio!

    October 20, 2012 at 7:40 pm

  2. Hello. I greatly enjoy your photography and wondered if I could have your permission to share your (sourced) images on my tumblr blog. I planned to refrain at first, but after seeing these photographs I can’t resist at least asking. Please respond as soon as you can.

    Thank you,

    -Septima

    January 1, 2013 at 4:00 am

    • jsvexperimental

      Yes. Thank you for asking.

      January 1, 2013 at 1:34 pm

Leave a Reply

