Saturday 8.24.13

Caution: this post contains a semi-nude selfie.

Today’s adventure was tubing down the Sugar River. There’s a place in Albany where you can rent inflatable tubes and float down the river to a point where they pick you up and haul you back to where you started. The trip takes 3.5 to 4 or so hours.

My daughter and her 2 kids had invited us to participate. I was slightly reluctant as usual when it comes to doing anything fun… but I figured I had better do my time. Turns out, it was not as horrible as I thought it would be. We had 6 tubes – 5 for people and one in the center to hold “stuff”. Some of the “stuff” was my daughter’s I-phone, which is now my daughter’s former I-phone.

Along the way, the kids played the “I see something” game. When I was a kid it was “I see something… ” and then you’d say a color or something. These kids use the “I spy with my little eye” phrase. So, it went like this: “I spy with my little eye… something hairy and pasty white.” My granddaughter replied “Grandpa” in an enthusiastic manner. She was right. Well, she was right at that point in the float. By the end of the float, Grandpa looked like this:

feet-3848

Pictures from the wet I-phone… I guess it must work now. Also, notice the awesome rope work.

1150702_10201941586089142_106191720_o

1147710_10201941585969139_73930135_o

And yes, I ironed my shirt before I went on this trip.

2 responses

  1. hkpuss

    I hope you post a photo of your feet when they start peeling.

    And I think it is awesome that you ironed your shirt for this.

    August 26, 2013 at 12:14 pm

  2. Ooooo that’s gotta hurt. I should know being unable to use sunscreen and all that for the most part. The best stuff I’ve found for the AFTER is “Sea & Ski After Sun Aloe foam” – however, it’s really hard to find – I got mine at Kosir’s Rapid Rafts up in Silver Cliff, WI. Amazon doesn’t carry it! Next best bet – straight up aloe. Use it liberally and often.

    Ironed your shirt? I would expect no less from you!

    August 26, 2013 at 1:53 pm

Leave a Reply

