Thursday 8.29.13

I don’t grow Sunflowers… oh, no. I grow FUNflowers. Thank you. I’ll be here all week and twice on Saturday.

sunflower-4039b

Earlier this summer, a man who I’ve done some work for in the past stopped to check in. This guy left a project here several years ago and then could not decide what he wanted painted on it. Perhaps some lettering and/or some kind of design. Unable to make a decision, it just sat here (still does) and I wrapped it up in a bunch of sheets figuring that eventually we would do something about it.

The economy went to hell and this guy, formerly a construction guy/land developer, took off for the great state of Texas. Every once in a while (I think twice in the last 5 or 6 years) he stops in to once again confirm that he can’t decide what to do with this thing. When he stopped earlier this summer he suggested that I just keep it since I had been storing it all this time. Then, he came back the next day and suggested that I don’t keep it… someone in the family might want it. And then… nothing once again. I suppose back to Texas.

But that’s not even the point. This guy went from being a building contractor here to being (I think, but I could be wrong) a slick land and other things hustling individual wheeling and dealing and probably making a shit ton of bucks while staying in a comfortable place of “just about legal.” One of the things he is doing now is prospecting for natural gas locations to “frack.” There’s a bunch of money there too, for now, so he’s involved. He told me of all of the places in the country where we have un-tapped natural gas and oil reserves. He suggested that there was no issue at all with fracking and that people who think they are having issues, like those who have flammable and undrinkable drinking water – well, fuck them… there’s money to be made. As he was telling me this story (people come in here and for some reason decide to tell me every fucking thing I never wanted to know) he suddenly stopped. He said “I know you’re a Lib”, and then went right on with the tale of woe and dough.

Hold on a sec. You know I’m a Lib? Fuck you. Am I wearing a Lib shirt? Did someone write “Lib” on my forehead while I was sleeping? (Lib would be better than that whole dick and balls sharpie graphic, I suppose) But seriously, dude… Lib? I don’t appreciate YOU labeling ME as anything other than reasonable and open to hear the pros and cons on an issue and then make a decision. I’m not decidedly one thing or another thing and who in the hell are you to suggest that I am?

And, that’s not the point either.

I was reading a couple of articles about Scott Walker this morning which talks about where we are (in Wisconsin) in his promise to bring in 250,000 jobs in his first term as Governor. There was a statement in this article which made me wonder exactly what I was reading. The quote from Walker is: “My goal wasn’t so much to hit a magic number as much as it was, in the four years before I took office, when I was campaigning, I saw that we lost over 133,000 jobs in the state. I said, ‘It’s really not about jobs, it’s about real people, real jobs like those here, and more importantly, affecting real families all across the state.”

What? Jesus H. Christ on a bike, now I have to go get my decoder ring to figure this out. Walker was in Merrill, WI on Monday. He was there at a company called Northern Wire which manufactures fasteners. They are in their 40th year of business and have bounced back from a 2011 tornado. A year ago, an investment group from Indiana bought Northern Wire, helping to keep production in Merrill. So… an Indiana owned Wisconsin business. Here’s Walker talking before they remove the vid.

Anyway, based on what my decoder ring is telling me, those words are horseshit. Let’s decipher:

My Goal = 250,000 jobs in the first term.

Wasn’t so much = now I’m telling you that you should disregard what I had said about bringing 250,000 jobs into the state and this was something I was considering in the four years previous to being elected. Perhaps there was a loss of over 133,000 jobs. But… this shows a path. Words used to fill dead air while he continues down the rambling shit stained road road to a better sound bite.

It’s really not about jobs, it’s about real people. No, it IS about jobs. Jobs for the people who are here in Wisconsin. Jobs for people who have not yet left Wisconsin so they can do shit work in some other state – like talk you into leasing your land to some frack fucks for eternity. You can’t say that it was not about jobs when YOU SAID “250,000 JOBS” by the end of your first term.

If you say you are going to build a house and you have the materials and skill to build that house then you will build that house. If you say you are going to mow your lawn and your mower works, you have gas and it is not raining… you mow your lawn. If you say you are going to bring 250,000 jobs to Wisconsin by the end of your first term as Governor – you don’t give some pussy excuse about what you said and what you thought and what you meant prior to becoming Governor… you go get 250,000 jobs. If you don’t have the gas or the materials or the skill to do this, you are Scott Walker.

Here is the fact: with 1.5 years left in his term, Walker has accomplished about one third of his goal. Will he make the goal? Will he hit a magic number? The term is not over yet so I guess we all have to just wait and see. Does pointing this out make me a Lib? No. Walker made a statement that so far has not come to fruition. It just makes me interested in what is going on in Wisconsin. Wisconsin… where I grow Funflowers.

funflower-4041

Leave a Reply

