Sunday 12.7.14

We went to Madison to see John Oliver tonight. In case you are not familiar with him, he was on The Daily Show for a few years and now hosts his own show, Last Week Tonight, on HBO. The show opened on time to a full house in the Orpheum Theater. Former SNL “featured” comedian, Brooks Wheelan was the warm up act.

John Oliver started around 8:20 and he was funny as hell for about an hour and a half or so. Our seats were about 3 rows from the back. Everything was pretty peachy as we waited for the show to begin – and then a dude with a larger than normal head sat down in front of me. Since the seats were all assigned, I would have to deal with it. I figured it would be ok.

Once the show started, the guy in front of me decided that he had to perform some self chiropractic exercise and “pop” his neck. I found this to be kind of distracting but figured that it would pass. No luck. And, he seemed to need to “pop” to the right.

oliver

This continued throughout the show. I suppose I could have politely asked him to knock it the fuck off, but I decided to not be a dick and go with it. I felt bad for the guy behind me who probably wondered if the two guys in front of him were okay.

All in all, great show. I saw most of it and understood almost all of a British accent. There were a couple of times I know I missed something. I also discovered that there’s a giant football penis sculpture at Camp Randall. Who knew?

One response

  1. That is one of the ugliest sculptures I’ve ever seen, and I have been to a lot of sculpture gardens and art museums. How did they NOT noticed it looked like a giant football penis? Were their no “artist’s concept” drawings in advance? Or was it an unveiling of, “Here’s my creation for Camp Randall! A Giant Football Penis!”

    December 8, 2014 at 8:53 am

Leave a Reply

