Monday 1.5.15

wintercame

Winter 2015. It really has not been as bad as it could have been. There has been very little snow here in Wisconsin. No doubt, this is because the state is heating up with the possibility that Scott Walker will take a run at the Presidency in 2016. I understand that he was sworn in as Governor today.

Actually, the last month has seen little if any sun. The cold came early in October and then mellowed out through December. It has been a dreary, sun-less, blah couple of months. The sun comes out and you have a faint recollection of what that thing in the sky is.

I decided that I would install my solar box heater a month or so ago. I guess I was fooled into doing it on a sunny day or two. The thing is, it DOES work but without any sun, it just takes up real estate.

jan515-9747

It was very nice and sunny this morning. It was also very cold. -8 when I arrived at the shop. I fired up the fan on the heat box and hoped I would see some kind of positive reaction.

jan515-9740

jan515-9734

43.5 is representative of blowing the cold air out of the shop – into the boxes, heating the air and blowing it back into the shop.

 

This looked pretty good. I figured that by noon, I would hit the 60’s. Then I looked out the back door…

jan515-9746

The clouds were coming in from the southwest. Once here, the solar heaters are pretty useless. Oh well, there will be other sunny days… maybe.

3 responses

  1. bootcheese3000

    I hope you didn’t feel as if you wasted your money because you didn’t.

    On a different note, Happy New Year? 😄

    Sorry, not sure if you wanted to hear that or not. 🙂 I wasn’t being facetious by any means sir.

    January 5, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    • jsvexperimental

      Here’s where it started: https://jsvexperimental.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/still-tuesday-11-22-11/

      January 5, 2015 at 10:53 pm

      • bootcheese3000

        You built this yourself? Wow you’re resourceful. Here I thought you spent stupid amts of cash to buy those oversized panels. When I was living in Tucson alot of buildings and houses had those on their rooftops but of course it’s always hot and sunny out there.

        January 6, 2015 at 10:52 am

Leave a Reply

