Friday 3.13.15

Fire!

I went home from work Thursday night and parked in the garage. Not wanting to track mud into the house due to the leftover slime from last summer’s garage construction, I shut the door and walked to the front of our house to go in. As I was going in the front door, I noticed some smoke coming out of the neighbor’s front porch. It looked more odd than someone just having a butt, so I decided to go check it out.

I walked up to the door and saw that the porch was filled with very dark smoke. I opened the door to see where there might be a fire, but could not tell… and the smoke was thick and very hot. I pounded on the door and yelled to see if anyone was in there. No answer. I ran to my house, grabbed the phone and called 911 as I told my lovely 30 something wife that the house next door was on fire.

It took the fire department a few minutes to get there but it was too late. The house is a goner. Luckily, no one was injured. Everyone made it out safely. There was an upper and lower apartment in the structure. One cat is still unaccounted for at the moment. No word on how it started yet.

Leave a Reply

