Thursday 2.11.16

eatshit

That’s right… If you are going to eat something, why not eat something good? I see these recipes posted all over Facebook by people I know and I wonder 1. If those people ever really made the thing or just posted it because they liked the idea and 2. You ate that? That’s crazy.

I did see a recipe recently and thought I would give it a try. In my mind, it met my personal criteria for something I would eat. Criteria, you wonder? Well, it is kind of loose but follow me and I’ll explain. Potatoes… A shit load of Irish folks died for and because of these, so I figure I need to eat them not only because they are good, but because I need to remember those people. Olive oil. Same deal… I’ve been to Greece and feel a need to support. Calories… about 190 per stack.

Ok, stack? Yes, my little friends. Parmesan Potato Stacks. Quick and easy to make.

You’ll need the following:

2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese, plus extra for garnish

1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme, plus extra for garnish

Salt and pepper to taste.

8-10  potatoes, sliced super thin, I did these with a simple slicer on a grater. You might not need 8 – 10. If you kind of imagine how many muffin tins will be filled, you can figure it out.

Muffin Tins? Say what?

Okay, here’s what you do. Take the first 5 ingredients and whisk them in a bowl that is large enough to add the spuds. Slice your potatoes about 1/8 inch thick. I used the cheapo grater and it worked just fine. Add the potatoes to the mixture and cover the bowl with the lid. Shake the living shit out of it so that your ingredients coat the potatoes well. Stack the slices in a non-stick muffin tin – you may want to also use some cooking spray on the tin. Stack to just above the brim.

Bake at 375 for 45 to 55 minutes. Allow to rest for about 5 minutes then use a non-metal tool to remove the stacks… don’t damage your pan. Sprinkle with a little more Parmesan and thyme. Enjoy, I did.

parmpot-3952

One response

  1. Those look tasty. And… I’m 25% Irish… I love potatoes. I should remember the Irish more often.

    February 11, 2016 at 9:04 am

Leave a Reply

